Home page World of Marzipan Marzipan Club Almonds & Health

The multitalented almond

Did you know that the almond – the main ingredient in our marzipan – is a true multi-talent as far as a healthy diet is concerned? It's amazing what is hidden behind the hard shell of the almond! Consumed in proper quantities, almonds can make a valuable contribution to your daily diet, and can help to prevent such lifestyle diseases as cardiovascular problems and metabolic disorders.

 • Scientific studies provide evidence that the consumption of almonds as part of a healthy nutritional plan can achieve quite a lot. A 30 g portion (160 calories) contains mono- and polyunsaturated fatty acids, the antioxidant Vitamin E, proteins, dietary fibre, magnesium, potassium, calcium, phosphorus and iron.

• Almonds are approximately 25% proteins, about 12% fibres and a good 50% fats. The beneficial mono- and polyunsaturated fatty acids mentioned above make up around 90% of those fats. The calorie content of 100 g is 580 kcal. One advantage of that is that almonds exhibit a high degree of saturation, and the healthy fats have a positive effect on the heart and circulatory system. Cholesterol can be prevented or even lowered.

• Moreover, almonds also contain the amino acid L-Arginine, which helps to maintain healthy vessels, thus offering potential protection against arteriosclerosis. Vitamin E, which acts as an antioxidant, is also found in almonds (26.1 mg/100 g). It impedes the oxidation of unsaturated fatty acids by intercepting free radicals.

• In addition, almonds are rich in folic acid as well as Vitamins B1, B2 and B6, which are needed for energy production as part of carbohydrate metabolism and to transmit stimuli in the nervous system.

• Almonds also furnish the minerals magnesium, potassium and calcium for the functioning of nerves and muscles.

In the food industry, sweet almonds (Prunus amygdalus dulcis) are held in very high regard not only for their health-promoting qualities but also for their many different possible uses: shelled or unshelled, whole or split, slivered, blanched, ground, toasted, untoasted, salted, splintered, chopped or as a flour, paste, almond butter and marzipan. Almonds enhance food items and other confectionary products with their versatility, their taste and their texture.

Source: SG 5/2008, p. 48f, "Worth more with almonds“

The multitalented almond

Startseite Marzipanwelt Marzipan Club Gesundheit

Multitalent Mandel

Multitalent Mandel

Wussten Sie, dass die Mandel – Hauptbestandteil unseres Marzipans – ein wahres Multi-Talent ist, wenn es um gesunde Ernährung geht? Erstaunlich, was sich hinter der harten Mandelschale verbirgt! Der Verzehr von Mandeln kann bei entsprechender Verzehrmenge einen wertvollen Beitrag zu Ihrer täglichen Ernährung und dazu leisten, Zivilisationskrankheiten wie Herz-Kreislauf-Problemen und Stoffwechselstörungen vorzubeugen.

  • Wissentschaftliche Studien belegen, dass der Verzehr von Mandeln im Rahmen eines gesunden Ernährungsplans viel bewirken kann. Eine Portion á 30g (160 Kalorien) enthält einfach- und mehrfach ungesättigte Fettsäuren, das antioxidativ wirksame Vitamin E, Proteine, Ballaststoffe, Magnesium, Kalium, Calcium, Phosphor und Eisen.
  • Mandeln bestehen zu ca. 25% aus Eiweißstoffen, zu ca. 12% aus Ballaststoffen und zu gut 50% aus Fetten. Diese Fette wiederum bestehen zu 90% aus den oben bereits erwähnten wertvollen einfach- und mehrfach ungesättigten Fettsäuren. Der Kaloriengehalt von 100g beträgt 580 kcal. Das hat zum einen den Vorteil, dass Mandeln einen hohen Sättigungsgrad aufweisen und sich die gesunden Fette positiv auf Herz und Kreislauf auswirken. Cholesterin kann vorgebeugt, sogar gesenkt werden.

  • Des Weiteren enthalten Mandeln auch die Aminosäuren L-Arginin, die zur Gesunderhaltung der Gefäße beitragen und damit einen Schutz vor Arteriosklerose bieten kann. Das als Antioxidanz wirkende Vitamin E ist mit 26,1 mg/100g enthalten. Es verhindert die Oxidation von ungesättigten Fettsäuren, indem es Radikale abfängt.
  • Darüber hinaus sind Mandeln reich an Folsäure sowie an den Vitaminen B1, B2 und B6, die durch die Energiegewinnung im Kohlenhydratstoffwechsel und zur Reizübertragung im Nervensystem benötigt werden.
  • Mandeln liefern zudem die Mineralstoffe Magnesium, Kalium und Calcium für die Nerven- und Muskelfunktion.


In der Lebensmittelindustrie werden Süßmandeln (Prunus amygdalus dulcis) neben ihrer gesundheitsförderlichen Eigenschaften auch aufgrund ihrer vielseitigen Verwendungsmöglichkeiten sehr geschätzt: geschält oder mit Schale, ganz oder in Spalten, gestiftet, blanchiert, gemahlen, geröstet, ungeröstet, gesalzen, gehobelt, gehackt oder als Mehl, Paste, Mandelbutter und Marzipan. Mandeln bereichern Lebensmittel und andere Süßwarenprodukte durch ihre Vielseitigkeit, ihren Geschmack und ihre Textur.

Multitalent Mandel